Search Home Members Contacts
About Us
Products
Downloads
Community
Support
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
Author Topic: A basic 3rd person demo  (Read 45937 times)
AGT
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 474


WWW
« on: September 16, 2006, 10:25:33 PM »

Hello everyone!

I made a demo project in VB6 (when I purchased a liscence)
to learn some TV3D basics, and I want to share it with you.
It's not much but it might help someone! Smiley

Anyway, here's what the demo includes:
1.Custom Animations
2.Basic 3rd Person camera
3.Reflective/Refractive water
4.Glow
5.How to use custom shaders
6.Bumpmapping and managed lighting and normal maps
7.Draw text
8.Get polycount and landscape position
9.Skysphere

The code was a mess so I tidy it up a bit. I sepperated almost
everything in Subs, so now it's easy to find what goes where and I
also commented some lines.

Here's the link:
http://four.fsphost.com/agt/Demo.rar
Logged

sybixsus
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 1339


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2006, 10:42:00 PM »

Any chance of an executable for those of us without VB? I'd love to see it running.
Logged
AGT
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 474


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2006, 10:59:12 AM »

Sure! I reuploaded the file with the .exe
http://four.fsphost.com/agt/Demo.rar
Logged

pizzayoyo
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 1423


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2006, 11:28:16 AM »

WOW. That's a really cool demo. I love the shader on the actor!

Great job!
Logged

AGT
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 474


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2006, 11:31:46 AM »

Thanks! Smiley
I downloaded the shader from Nvidia's site
Logged

Mixael
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 371


« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2006, 12:08:57 PM »

@AGT:  I've been doing somem porting of 6.2 VB code to 6.5 in Dev-C++ to try to learn both TV and C++...would you mind if I try to port this over?  (I haven't downloaded it yet, but will in a few moments)

If you'd rather I don't, not a problem, as I have a lot of other code to translate for practice. Smiley

Anyways, that's what I wanted to ask.

Michael
Logged

A bug is a feature that didn't make it into the manual.
AGT
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 474


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2006, 04:54:25 PM »

Hi Mixael!
There's no problem at all! Smiley
Logged

Mixael
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 371


« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2006, 10:00:24 AM »

AGT, I noticed something while porting your prog, and need to ask a question to clarify.

your Load texture stuff for the sky is:
Code:

    'The Sky's texture
        .LoadTexture "..\GD\Maps\Sky\Sky1.dds", "sky1", -1, -1, TV_COLORKEY_NO, False



later, you have this when applying the textures:
Code:

        .SkyBox_SetTexture GetTex("sky1"), GetTex("sky2"), GetTex("sky3"), GetTex("sky4"), GetTex("sky5"), GetTex("sky5")


where do "sky2" to "sky5" come from?  I assume that there should be some code for loading them, but would like your answer.  (I can fake it if I need to, so no worries)

Michael
Logged

A bug is a feature that didn't make it into the manual.
Mixael
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 371


« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2006, 01:10:27 PM »

After more testing and looking, I've noticed that there's a problem with the sky texture.  This is also in the debug file that came with the .rar file.  Here is the pertinant portion of the debug file:

Code:

09-17-2006 06:41:36 | TEXTURE MANAGER : Couldn't find the texture 'sky1' in the texture list.
09-17-2006 06:41:36 | TEXTURE MANAGER : Couldn't find the texture 'sky2' in the texture list.
09-17-2006 06:41:36 | TEXTURE MANAGER : Couldn't find the texture 'sky3' in the texture list.
09-17-2006 06:41:36 | TEXTURE MANAGER : Couldn't find the texture 'sky4' in the texture list.
09-17-2006 06:41:36 | TEXTURE MANAGER : Couldn't find the texture 'sky5' in the texture list.
09-17-2006 06:41:36 | TEXTURE MANAGER : Couldn't find the texture 'sky5' in the texture list.


Do you, or anyone, have any idea why on this?  for sky2 - sky5, there isn't a correspnding LoadTexture call, but from what I can tell, sky1 should be fine.

(even though it gives these errors, there IS a sky in the demo...and I can't get the "problem" to go away.)


I'll keep porting it to Dev-C++ (I have to write it out long-hand first, as I'm not good enough with C++ to simply look at your code and port while I type), but this issue has my attention, and kinda bugs me - that I can't figure it out I mean Smiley

Mixael
Logged

A bug is a feature that didn't make it into the manual.
Taneas
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 159


« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2006, 10:32:50 AM »

can someone mirror this somewhere..

Its not letting me download Sad
Logged

- Working as Intended -
- FTW Studios Lead Developer -
- www.ftw-studios.com -
Mixael
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 371


« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2006, 04:10:54 PM »

I just tried AGT's link again, and it's working for me.  If AGT is willing, I can post it on my site for TV stuff.  (I use it for specific purposes like this only)

Mixael
Logged

A bug is a feature that didn't make it into the manual.
AGT
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 474


WWW
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2006, 03:33:56 PM »

Hi and sorry for the delay!

Quote
Do you, or anyone, have any idea why on this? for sky2 - sky5, there isn't a correspnding LoadTexture call, but from what I can tell, sky1 should be fine.

Oops! At first I had a skybox in the demo but then I decided to make a skysphere instead. I thought I erased the code of the skybox but it seems I missed a couple of lines. Sorry for that man! Just erase the skybox's code and it should work fine! Smiley


Quote
I just tried AGT's link again, and it's working for me. If AGT is willing, I can post it on my site for TV stuff. (I use it for specific purposes like this only)

Mixael

The link works fine for me too. Ofcourse, be my gest, you can post it to your site if you want!  Cheesy

Cheers!
Logged

Mixael
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 371


« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2006, 04:14:30 PM »

Not a problem.  I had noticed it when looking at the VB code, so it will be easy to get rid of it in my port  Cheesy

I'll get it posted to my site (such as it is) pretty soon.

Thanks AGT


Michael
Logged

A bug is a feature that didn't make it into the manual.
Zaknafein
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 2940


WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2006, 10:34:51 PM »

I think this is a very cool sample. I'm making a C# 2.0 port as we speak, with some more tweaks and fixes and OOP code separation... Smiley
Logged

Zaknafein
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 2940


WWW
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2006, 03:12:36 AM »

As promised... the c# 2.0 (VS.Net 2005) port of the demo.

http://www.zaknafein.hjcrusaders.com/samples/AGT3rdPersonDemo/AGT3rdPersonDemo.rar [10 mb]

Added :
- Simpler camera control
- Options dialog (same as all my demos)
- The glow effect is more obvious
- Removed the shader, because it was useless; specular normal-mapping is supported out of the box by TV6.5 Smiley
- Shadows! (no self-shadows, too glitchy and slow)
- Removed the unused code and media

Some shots :




Thanks again for sharing the original demo AGT, and hope you don't mind my changes!!
« Last Edit: December 18, 2007, 02:31:08 PM by Zaknafein » Logged

AGT
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 474


WWW
« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2006, 10:00:06 AM »

That's great!
Thank's Zak for the changes! Cheesy
Logged

Mixael
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 371


« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2006, 03:27:38 PM »

I'm still doing the C++ port, but due to illness and family stuff (gotta play with the kids, after all!), I had to put it on hold for a few days.  I'll be going again on it ASAP.   (Due to the fact that I have to write it long-hand first, it's taking longer than I thought)

Michael
Logged

A bug is a feature that didn't make it into the manual.
AGT
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 474


WWW
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2006, 02:39:36 AM »

Hey everyone!
I'm thinking to implement some Physics functionality in the demo like collision, ragdoll and movement. But I never used physics before and I don't even Know were to start.
And unfortunately the VB6 version of Meabow demo, doesn't fully work in my PC Sad

So, is anyone willing to offer any help about Physics?

Thank's in advance Smiley
Logged

bjennison
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 100


« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2006, 03:02:34 PM »

Hmm, I put the dx.dll and the tvb.dll in the "temp" folder with the exe, but still can't run it without a 429 error, "ActiveX component can't create object".  Is there somewhere else I should be putting these?
Logged
Zaknafein
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 2940


WWW
« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2006, 03:12:48 PM »

Don't forget you regsvr32 your tvb.dll!
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.3 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC
Seo4Smf v0.2 © Webmaster's Talks