Search Home Members Contacts
About Us
Products
Downloads
Community
Support
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is this legit?  (Read 2562 times)
serial
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 299


« on: October 09, 2007, 01:56:41 PM »

http://softotet.com

Just curious if this is legal?
Logged
WEst
Community Member
*
Posts: 805

Daniel Martinek


WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2007, 02:04:37 PM »

I would say that it's absolutely legal, it's that cheap, because it's OEM, it comes without manual and without support.
Logged

Greetings

Daniel Martinek
Lead Programmer
Roaming Nova Studios
newborn
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 2434


WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2007, 02:09:54 PM »

Office Enterprise 2007
Retail Price: $599.95
Our Price: $79.95

this is legit?!
Logged

ovek
Community Member
*
Posts: 383


« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2007, 03:00:06 PM »

no and i do believe microsoft offers like a $50 reward for bounties
Logged
darqSHADOW
Administrator
Community Member
*****
Posts: 2721


« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2007, 03:27:51 PM »

It's illegal to resell OEM software -- so yes this is illegal.

John
Logged

TrueVision3D Project Manager
The fast and simple way of 3D development.
Waterman
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 1141


« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2007, 06:19:41 AM »

A Google search revealed that this "company" was previously using this url:

http://www.soft-rt.com/

According to the website mentioned in the original post, they are located at this address:

210 East 59st Street

This address is also shared by http://mordorest.com, which present us identical pages with cheap software.

softotet.com is registered in Moergestel, the Netherlands. mordorest.com is registered in Indiana, US. Not surprisingly, we find a russian name behind all this. Below is the whois for soft-rt.com.

I think it's clear that this is illegal software. "rt", btw, is likely short of "real time", implying that the nature of this illegal business is immediate delivery (i.e. download).

---

Registrant:
Maxim Ivanovich mazzella_peter@yahoo.com +7.4959487756
Private person
12 Lenin str
Moscow,Moscow,RUSSIAN FEDERATION 658833

Domain Name:soft-rt.com
Record last updated at 2007-02-13 11:15:32
Record created on 2007/2/13
Record expired on 2008/2/13

Domain servers in listed order:
ns1.dns-diy.net ns2.dns-diy.net

Administrator:
12 Lenin str
Moscow
Moscow,
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
658833

name:(Maxim Ivanovich)
mail:(mazzella_peter@yahoo.com) +7.4959487756
Private person
Technical Contactor:
12 Lenin str
Moscow
Moscow,
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
658833

name:(Maxim Ivanovich)
mail:(mazzella_peter@yahoo.com) +7.4959487756
Private person
Billing Contactor:
12 Lenin str
Moscow
Moscow,
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
658833

name:(Maxim Ivanovich)
mail:(mazzella_peter@yahoo.com) +7.4959487756
Private person

Registration Service Provider:
name: Regtime.net
tel: +7 8462698077
fax: +7 8462698057
web:http://www.webnames.ru
Logged

Things should be described as simply as possible - but not simpler [A. Einstein]
WEst
Community Member
*
Posts: 805

Daniel Martinek


WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2007, 07:54:15 AM »

So it isn't legal to buy a System Builder or OEM Version of Vista and install it? I was under the impression, that it is legal, but that the license of the OS ties it to your computer (no change of Motherboard for example). There are quite some resellers of for example Vista SB Versions around here (Austria, Germany), and I speak of big ones like http:\\www.alternate.de .
Logged

Greetings

Daniel Martinek
Lead Programmer
Roaming Nova Studios
darqSHADOW
Administrator
Community Member
*****
Posts: 2721


« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2007, 07:24:30 PM »

OEM software is only to be sold with the purchase of a new computer.  They do this to offset the cost of the software because in the end, SOMEBODY is paying for it.  Wink

John
Logged

TrueVision3D Project Manager
The fast and simple way of 3D development.
sybixsus
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 1076


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2007, 09:20:42 PM »

I'd steer well clear. At best you'll get very expensive pirate software and at worst, they'll abuse your credit card details and you'll get nothing at all. I know Open Office doesn't have all the features of MS Office, but at least you know your credit card is safe.
Logged
tagget
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 178


« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2007, 01:31:13 AM »

Microsoft Australia does this sort of thing here a couple of times a year where you get Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 for only $95. The only condition is you have to have a valid University email adress from any Australian Uni and you can download it and install it on up to 3 computers.
Naturally I took the offer up Smiley

Another offer is coming this month http://www.itsnotcheating.com.au/. I would definately stay away from crap sites and get it directly from Microsoft. If they offer it cheap in Australia then maybe they do it in other countries too.
Logged
darqSHADOW
Administrator
Community Member
*****
Posts: 2721


« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2007, 02:46:53 PM »

MS offers a direct student discount in the US.  If you prove you are a college student you can get the software at a major discount at any time.

John
Logged

TrueVision3D Project Manager
The fast and simple way of 3D development.
TuSK
Community Member
*
Posts: 49


« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2007, 12:04:03 AM »

lol pirate software for cash. Why didn't I think of that!?

Hahahahahahhaa.......
Logged

~ TuSK tHe BaRBaRiaN ~
Lyrical
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 460


WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2007, 05:46:46 PM »

Usually with this type of Microsoft license in the small print it states that when you are no longer a student then the software must be returned to the school/university etc.

This is in the UK when i was doing the Microsoft Licencing course.

BTW: What is the actual spelling for License anyway English and American

Licence?
License?
Lisense?
Lisence?

I always get this wrong.

lol
Logged
Waterman
Customers
Community Member
*****
Posts: 1141


« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2007, 06:01:47 AM »

License

Originates from latin "licére" which means something like "allow to". Also "leisure" comes from that word; apparently something like "allowed to [do something else than work]". 6 cents.
Logged

Things should be described as simply as possible - but not simpler [A. Einstein]
SylvainTV
Administrator
Community Member
*****
Posts: 4456


WWW
« Reply #14 on: November 02, 2007, 09:36:44 PM »

In french, it's "Licence", talk about being confusing :p
Logged

Regards

Sylvain Dupont
TrueVision3D Developer
sylvain@truevision3d.com

TV3D IRC at http://chat.truevision3d.com or on server irc.truevision3d.com #Truevision3D. Come talk with us !
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.3 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC
Seo4Smf v0.2 © Webmaster's Talks